Chicago’s Top DUI, DWI & Drugged Driving Attorneys

Recognized Leaders in DUI law in illinois! Driving drunk? Driving stoned? Driving with drugs on you? Don’t say anything and call our DUI attorneys now at 708.606.4386!

Chicago and Illinois Attorneys Representing Drunk Driving, DWI, DUI, Driver’s License and Traffic Cases

It is not easy to fight a DUI case alone. Fortunately, the Law Office of Edward Johnson has experienced DUI lawyers to suit your individual case needs. Allow us to take care of filling out the necessary to get your case started, contact the prosecutor’s office, talk to the sectary of state, and personally speak to any insurance companies on your behalf. Call now to hire a DUI lawyer from our office.

The experienced criminal defense attorneys at Edward Johnson and Associates P.C., are here to help. Our firm has been handling DUI cases and other criminal matters throughout Illinois. We know the law, we know the local courts and we know how to help our clients reach favorable outcomes.

Arrested for Drunk Driving, DUI, Drugged Driving in Chicago? 1st DUI? 2nd DUI? We Can Help!

DUI Due to Marijuana or Drugs?

The Initial Consultation Is Free

Edward Johnson and Associates P.C. is a full-service criminal defense firm with a proven track record of providing aggressive, strategic legal representation. As your attorneys, we will provide support and practical advice when you need it. We will answer your questions when they arise. We will make sure your rights are protected.

If you need a criminal defense lawyer in Cook County or anywhere in Illinois, call 708.606.4386 or contact us online for a free case review.

PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION IN ILLINOIS

DUI charges and penalties will become more severe if the offense occurs more than once, turning into an Aggravated DUI. If it results in the death of another person, the charge will change to Drunk Driving Vehicular Homicide, a Class 2 felony, in which the penalties will instantly become more severe.

1st DUI in Illinois – Class A misdemeanor

Class A misdemeanor; minimum revocation of driving privileges for 1 year (2 years if the driver is under age 21); suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more, In addition to any penalties or fines, a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and a minimum 100 hours of community service.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16, In addition to any penalties or fines, possible imprisonment of up to 6 months, a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16 and involved in a crash that resulted in bodily harm to the child (Aggravated DUI); Class 4 felony, a mandatory fine of $2,500 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

2nd DUI in Illinois – Class A misdemeanor

Got a 2nd DUI in Illinois? The penalty becomes a little more tough.

Class 2 felony; revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 10 years; suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more, In addition to any penalties or fines, mandatory imprisonment of 2 days and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,250.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16 (Aggravated DUI); Class 4 felony.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16 and involved in a crash that resulted in bodily harm to the child (Aggravated DUI); Class 2 felony, a mandatory fine of $5,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

3rd DUI in Illinois – Aggravated DUI

If you get a 3rd DUI in Illinois, call the best DUI defense attorneys in Chicago right away.

Class 2 felony; revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 10 years; suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more. In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, mandatory imprisonment of 90 days and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

4th DUI in Illinois – Aggravated DUI

1st DUI in Illinois usually is forgiven.
2nd DUI in Illinois has a harsher punishment.
3rd DUI in Illinois will come with bad news.
4th DUI in Illinois is a big problem.

Class 2 felony; revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available; suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

5th DUI in Illinois – Aggravated DUI

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and now 5th DUi in Illinois. Chicago’s top defense attorneys will work with you on your. case and try to get the help you need.

Class 1 felony; revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available; suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

6th Conviction – Aggravated DUI

Class X felony; revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available; suspension of vehicle registration.

If committed with a BAC of .16 or more, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.

If committed while transporting a child under age 16, In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanctions, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

As Chicago’s best DUI attorneys, we understand how to get the best results in your case

708-606-4386 | info@edwardjohnsonlaw.com

Related DUI and Drinking Offenses

Aggravated DUI

Any DUI offense resulting in felony charges is classified as Aggravated DUI. Any mandatory term of imprisonment or community service is not subject to suspension or reduction. Any person sentenced to probation or conditional discharge also must serve a minimum of 480 hours of community service or 10 days imprisonment.

Underage Drinking

Drivers under age 21 face a minimum 2-year driver’s license revocation for a first DUI conviction in addition to the penalties that apply for DUI offenders age 21 and older. The offender is not eligible for a restricted driving permit (RDP) until the second year of the revocation period. An offender under age 18 on a statutory summary suspension is not eligible for an MDDP and may be subject to remedial education and/or retesting prior to reinstatement of his/her driving privileges.

A person under age 21 convicted of DUI may be ordered by a judge, as a condition of probation or discharge, to participate in the Youthful Intoxicated Driver’s Visitation Program. The offender will undergo a comprehensive counseling session prior to visitation to determine if the program is appropriate. If approved, the offender may be sent on a supervised visit to a location where the results of alcoholism or DUI crashes may be viewed.

From 1986 to 2013, DUI arrests have decreased for drivers under age 21. The decline can be attributed to many factors, including tougher laws for DUI and fraudulent IDs, youth DUI prevention programs, visually distinctive driver’s licenses, and state ID cards, and training programs like Operation Straight ID.*

Zero Tolerance

  • First offense, Suspension of driving privileges for 3 months for a BAC of more than .00; suspension of driving privileges for 6 months for refusal to submit to or failure to complete testing.
  • Second offense, Suspension of driving privileges for 1 year for a BAC of more than .00; suspension of driving privileges for 2 years for refusal to submit to or failure to complete testing.
  • During 2013, 931 drivers under age 21 were suspended for driving with a BAC of more than .00 or for refusing to submit to chemical testing.*
  • Additionally, 2,233 underage drivers were arrested for DUI and received suspensions.*
  • Under the Zero Tolerance law, a police officer also may initiate a DUI arrest based on field sobriety tests or additional evidence.

Vehicle Impoundment

The vehicle of any driver may be seized or impounded by local authorities for:

  • Committing a DUI while driving privileges are suspended/revoked for a previous DUI or reckless homicide.
  • Committing a DUI with a previous conviction of reckless homicide, aggravated DUI with death or great bodily harm.
  • Committing a third or subsequent DUI.
  • Committing a DUI without a valid driver’s license or permit.
  • Committing a DUI while uninsured.

Traffic Cases

Traffic violations, such as Driving on a Suspended License, Speeding, Reckless Driving, etc. can include not only fines and, points, on your record, but also may even carry custody time. Even after minimizing the charges on a DUI or other traffic violations, most vehicle code violations carry, points, which are applied against your driving record. The number of points a violation carries depends on the severity of the offense, and you may face suspension of your license if you accumulate too many. The Illinois DMV website discusses these points at length. The Law Offices of Edward Johnson can help you battle these traffic violations and minimize the charges and points. We utilize a variety of tactics to help your case, such as subpoenaing the facilities that monitor radar for records, finding traffic schools for our clients to expunge their records, court supervision, using lidar (technology that uses a laser to measure distance) to help solidify our evidence, etc.

We can help you with any traffic violation, whether it is a speeding ticket or a DUI. Call now at 708.606.4386 for immediate assistance or your free consultation!

Contact us to get a free consultation

Chicago’s Best criminal lawyers, providing the most complete criminal defense at low cost. Specializing in Criminal Defense cases involving DUI, Drug, Weapons, Murder, Civil Forfeiture, Orders of Protection and more!

Edward Johnson and Associates P.C.
555 W Jackson Blvd.
Suite 700
Chicago, IL 60661

Email: info@edwardjohnsonlaw.com
Phone: 708-606-4386

We proudly serve all of Illinois including the following cities and counties: Chicago, Cook County, DuPage County, Kane County, Will County, Lake County, McHenry County and southern Illinois districts.