Gun and Weapons Charges
Recognized Leaders in Illinois gun rights and weapons law. If you have been arrested for a weapons related charge, call 708.606.4386 now to speak the best weapons attorney in Chicago now!
EXPERTS IN ILLINOIS GUN LAWS
Weapon charges are severe consequences of carrying a gun in Cook County without the proper permits. According to the Illinois Compiled Statutes 720 ILCS 5/24-3.1, a person cannot lawfully own a firearm if under the age of 18 and if he/she is under the age of 21 and charged with a non-traffic misdemeanor. If caught in these circumstances, the person will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. However, in any situation, no matter the age, according to the Illinois State Police Guide to Illinois Gun Laws, in order to legally possess a firearm, a person must have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card issued in his name.
CBS INTERVIEW ON ILLINOIS GUN RIGHTS
The team at Edward Johnson & Associates P.C. wants to help you understand your rights and give you the legal defense you deserve. Call us today for a free, no-obligation consultation at 708-606-4386 and get access to a free case report to get further information on what to expect with your defense case.
UNLAWFUL SEARCH AND SEIZURE
If you have been held at a traffic stop and had your vehicle searched, you are not alone. Many gun cases/weapons charges in Chicago are the result of police traffic searches. The laws surrounding what the cops can and cannot do legally during one of these searches are complicated, which is why the defense lawyers at The Law Offices of Edward Johnson and Associates PC can be a great help. We have a strong knowledge of the 4th Amendment and the prohibition of unlawful searches and seizures. Our criminal defense attorneys have countless victories in guns and weapons charges in Chicago, in Cook County, and throughout Illinois.
Without a FOID card, any individual may be charged with a Class 4 felony. These charges become enhanced or aggravated when coupled with other felonies (i.e. an armed robbery or carrying drugs and an unlawful firearm on your person), and become a charge of Aggravated Unlawful Use of Weapons (AUUW). Other instances of gun charges becoming aggravated include having a loaded gun on one’s person or in the car with the ammunition within reach, firing a weapon at a person or group of people, and defacing a weapon by scrubbing off the serial number. The penalty of this Class 4 felony is a sentence of 1 to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Weapon charges are not taken lightly in Illinois, but you do have the right to bear arms. Edward Johnson and Associates PC are committed to making sure you understand these rights and giving you the defense you deserve when caught in these circumstances.